Ashok Gadgil inducted into the National Academy of Engineering

NAE 2013 Annual Meeting






On left is NAE Chair, Charles O. (“Chad”) Holliday Jr., and on right is NAE President, C. D. (“Dan”) Mote Jr.

Being elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is the highest honor for an engineer.  There are about 2000 living members of NAE, and the election to NAE is by secret nomination and secret recommendation letters, and secret ballot, all only open to current NAE members.  NAE membership is judged by having an exceptional level of accomplishment in the engineering (in research, accomplishments or education) and professional integrity.  Annually there are about 500 nominations of which about 60 are voted in to NAE membership.